Emmys 2015 pt. 2 Supporting and Other

67Emmy-Facebook

Previously….

I gave my thoughts about the Emmy nominations as they happened last Thursday July 16th.

And now the continuation.

I was really happy with the Supporting categories this year. In the comedy actor race Keegan-Michael Key was singled out for Key & Peele I would have loved for both he and Jordan Peele to get in, because I’ve loved them since MADTV.

I’m also very excited that Tituss Burgess was nominated for Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt. It’s weird that Kimmy herself, Ellie Kemper didn’t get in the lead actress category, but Lisa Kudrow is taking it, so it doesn’t really matter.

Tituss reacts to People Magazine. It’s worth a read.

The Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series category has 8 nominees! I was surprised at seeing Niecy Nash, but only because I wasn’t aware that she was on a new-to-me show Getting On. I think she’s great and I now have a new show to check out. And it’s got Alex Borstein and Laurie Metcalf! Excuse me while I go watch this now!

I was thrilled to see that Jane Krakowski got a nomination for her role on Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt. I think she’s as funny in this as she was in 30 Rock, and gives the character a slightly different tone from Jenna. They are similar, but they are different enough that it works for me.

Sad to not see Tina Fey get a writing nomination or Amy Poehler and Michael Schur for the beautiful series finale of Parks and Recreation.

Fun fact: 5 of the shows nominated for comedy writing also got nominated in the directing category too.

Honestly, I don’t know too much about the drama categories. I need to catch up on the cable offerings. If you guys have comments please share below!

A new post is coming your way on Thursday. It probably won’t be Emmy related.

One comment

Leave a Reply

