TV Throwback Thursday

ST_TNG_Season_One_Cast

Welcome to TV Throwback Thursday! This Thursday I’m going to look at the TV show that started it all for me. Star Trek: The Next Generation.

I remember clearly being five years old in 1990, and watching TNG before going to sleep. Because TNG was a show that aired in syndication for all of its episodes, it’s hard to pin down what time of night it would’ve been, It could have been 9 pm or 7pm, either case, I was five and I should’ve been in bed. My go to show would from then on would be Star Trek TNG.

I didn’t understand at the time that it was a spin-off of Star Trek or that it was a risk for them to attempt a thing especially in syndication where each area of the country got to choose whether or not they would carry it on their network. I had no idea that Patrick Stewart was a classically trained Shakespearean actor, or that if Denise Crosby had chosen to stay instead of leave that Worf would not have existed beyond that first season. I had no idea that Wesley was originally pitched as a girl, or that Gates McFadden only came back in season 3 after leaving in season 1 because the fans wanted her back so badly. Sorry Diana Muldaur.

All I knew at the time was that I liked the stories and that they were different from the other shows that we watched; mainly Wheel of Fortune. I don’t recall watching much TV in that time except Star Trek TNG.

My favorite characters were Counselor Troi and Dr. Crusher. When I was a kid I used to have a green bath robe with pockets where I would put my GameBoy. I would sometimes pretend it was a tricorder.

Of course the success of Star Trek TNG would lead to three more spin-off series and a place in TV and Sci-fi history for it’s cast and characters. I still watch the show on Netflix and occasionally re-watch the movies; even Nemesis, because while it was the weakest and not a great send off for the TNG characters as a whole, it is still canon.

You can find out more about the current Star Trek movie and the shows at the official Star Trek site.

Do you have a favorite Star Trek show? Are there any Enterprise fans out there? What do you think of the new movies?

A new post will be up Monday! More expert TV talk then!

Leave a Reply

