My 5 Favorite TV Title Sequences

Hi everyone! Thanks for checking out my Monday post! Today, I’ll be listing my five favorite TV show title sequences. I love a good title sequence because it sets up the whole tone for the show. When I was a kid I would love singing the theme song as the pictures of the actors rolled by. And it was fun seeing what scenes they chose for the titles. If it was the beginning of a new season, there would be new scenes that hadn’t aired yet that I could speculate about until I saw them in context. What did it mean that she was holding a knife? Well, onto the list!

5. Star Trek Deep Space Nine 

I’ve always loved that theme song, and there’s something majestic about the way they did this one that sets it apart from the other Star Trek shows that came before it. They could let the song float a little because in the show we weren’t always racing off to a new planet that maybe we had no business getting involved with in the first place! We get a sense of the beauty of this area of space and the wormhole that they look over, and the feeling that this will be a slower kind of trek.

4. FRIENDS

We all know this one, right? I used to sing along to this all the time, and I really liked seeing how they changed the opening credits two or three times a season. When they did the last episode it was nice seeing the characters for one last time and hearing that iconic theme play.

3. All in the Family 

I only caught this show in re-runs so I never knew the impact it had first-hand, but it’s a show that continues to fascinate me with how it handled humor and the topics it spoke about when it aired in the 70’s. A particular standout to me is the episode “Edith’s 50th Birthday” episode three, which aired as a  two-part episode in the eight season. Check it out if you can, it really blends the relational aspects of the family with physical humor very well.

2. The Simpsons

I love The Simpsons theme because they change the chalkboard and the couch gag most episodes. Sometimes it skips straight to the garage scene of the intro. for time, which is sometimes good because we get extra episode, but sometimes bad because sometimes that extra episode isn’t very good.

1. Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt 

There are several TV title sequences I could’ve put as number one, Parks and Recreation, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Firefly, Roseanne, 30 Rock (live show version), but none has infected me with as much happiness when I hear it as the theme for Netflix’s Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt. The show would still be great without a title sequence, but this one sets the tone of the show so well; silly and optimistic all in one.

What are some of your TV show title sequences? Or do you prefer just a title card? Let me know in the comments! Thanks for reading, new post on Thursday!

P.S. 

3 comments

    • Good list! My list would be The Kids in the Hall, Monty Python’s Flying Circus, Mad Men, and WKRP in Cincinnati, in some order. Number one, mostly for the same reasons you give for Kimmy Schmidt, would be Fawlty Towers. It is perfect though it is boring and short. Just sublime!

      Any thought to doing closing sequences?

      Like

Leave a Reply

