Shows to Watch Live, Shows to Stream, and Shows to Skip (IMHO)

The new TV season is upon us! Deadline.com has a handy premier schedule.They list all the dates for broadcast, cable, and streaming. Take a minute to check it out by clicking their banner below.

download


Thanks for coming back! So, what are you looking forward to?

New Shows? SuperGirl Oct 26? The Bastard Executioner Sep 15? The Muppetts Sep 22?

Returning Shows? The Flash Oct 6? How to Get Away with Murder Sep 24? The Mindy Project Sep 15 HULU?

As the Deadline.com list shows, there are a ton of shows premiering this fall all over the place. How do you decide which to watch and which to stream? What about shows that have overstayed their welcome? You can make your own list, but if you’re crunched for time, you should use mine.


Watch Live

  1. The Flash The CW – It’s a fun show and Grant Gustin is the perfect actor to play the character. I still hold out hope for Barry and Felicity, even though I know it’s never going to happen.
  2. The Muppetts ABC- While I think the mocumentory style is gimmicky for most shows, I’ll watch this one because it’s The Muppetts! I like the idea that we get to see them in a more real world setting, and it’ll be interesting to see how the meta story lines play out. Kermit has his own Twitter!

3. Supergirl CBS- Greg Berlanti (Arrow, The Flash, Legends of Tomorrow) has a good track record with superhero shows, and I have no doubt that this show will play to people who like those shows. He knows how to keep characters interesting, for the most part (Arrow season 3 needed some help) and the bad guy of the week episodes fun.

4. Empire FOX- Cookie. Enough said.


Stream

  1. Gotham FOX- Season 1 was all over the place with trying to mix cop show, drama, relationship, and mob show all into one. I liked parts of the show (Young Bruce Wayne is interesting when they let him do stuff, Selena Kyle is great, and Jim is compelling enough) but the cop aspect takes away from the gritty show it wants to be. Either go full Gothom villain/mob or go Jim Gordon drama. It looks like they are going more villain with it so for that reason I’ll DVR it and watch later.
  2. Crazy Ex-Girlfriend  The CW- This is going to be a fun comedy musical that was orginally developed for Showtime. I really hope the CW doesn’t water it down too much . I think they’re realizing that adults want to watch The CW if they have shows  that appeal to them (Jane the Virgin, Arrow, The Flash).

3. Modern Family ABC- I like this show. Is it the best comedy for the past five years? According to the Emmy’s, yes. It has really good structure and the actors know their characters, and I like that they use female directors often, but it’s not one I need to see the night it airs. At this point they are going through the motions of these characters. There’s nothing new or exciting to be had with these characters.


SKIP

  1. Angel from Hell CBS- This doesn’t look funny really. Jane Lynch is great, but I don’t think she’ll be able to carry a show. Her style is more suited for a quick burst here and there, not a full show. I like the idea that we don’t know for sure if the character is an angel or a person with some psychological issues, and it’ll probably give her a chance to do something dramatic, but I think it’s going  to be one and done.
  2. Family Guy FOX- Unlike The Simpsons, this show hasn’t been funny in a long time. The characters are written for a 12 year old audience that I have a hard time watching. The crossover last year was great because Family Guy characters had to act like real people because in Springfield they don’t do cut scenes ever two seconds.
  3.  The Big Bang Theory CBS- I know I’m late to the party on this show anyway, but the two episodes I’ve seen weren’t funny. I don’t understand the mass appeal. Penny could be played by any actress. She seems so poorly created. And I don’t understand how Sheldon is so loved. He has a high pitched voice and is mean to his friends, just like Karen from Will and Grace. Unlike Karen, he doesn’t have the booze and pills to blame it all on.What do you guys think? What’s on your list? Let me know and I’ll see you here Thursday!

Leave a Reply

