Star Trek is Coming Back! (But not on TV)

Read this first: http://www.startrek.com/article/new-star-trek-series-premieres-january-2017

Star Trek is coming back in 2017!

Per Startrek.com “The new program will be the first original series developed specifically for U.S. audiences for CBS All Access, a cross-platform streaming service that brings viewers thousands of episodes from CBS’s current and past seasons on demand, plus the ability to stream their local CBS Television station live for $5.99 per month. CBS All Access already offers every episode of all previous Star Trek television series.”

This is huge news! World Series what? Let’s hope by 2017 they don’t raise their prices on All Access. If you buy it just for Star Trek, it will cost you $71.88 for the year. Is that worth it for a new series and access to all the previous series? Possibly. It depends how the new show looks. We know nothing at this point about the show itself except that it will be new characters and handled by CBS Television Studios in association with Alex Kurtzman’s Secret Hideout. Kurtzman and Heather Kadin will serve as executive producers.

What better way to celebrate the news than by ranking the Star Trek TV series? For your inspection, my least favorite to my favorite Star Trek TV show.

star trek enterprise5. Star Trek Enterprise

I remember when the promo for Enterprise came out in 2001 with a theme song that had words. I told my brother that it was just for the promo and that Star Trek wouldn’t do that. Then they did. I watched this series premier live on UPN (RIP) and wasn’t 100% sold on the idea. I generally don’t like prequels and this one was a little boring for me in the beginning. I didn’t like a Star Trek where transporters weren’t a thing yet, and where we spent so much time on Earth. I also never connected with their doctor. He always seemed out of place. But in the last couple of seasons they started doing the time line arc with the Xindi, and the show got pretty interesting. But because it’s a prequel, I put it last.

st voyager4. Star Trek Voyager

I liked Voyager when it first premiered. It was Trek the way I remembered from the 80’s on TNG. They were on a ship exploring space, albeit in the Delta Quadrant. The idea of the ship being alone was fun at first. Captain Janeway didn’t start getting annoying for me until 7 of 9 joined, and she really started hammering the whole “We’re a family” message every episode. Most of the characters were fun, and they did well with their final season. But I will never accept that Janeway is the one who took down the Borg. Fortunately the books clarify that, and we find they are alive and well, assimilating the galaxy, ready to continue fighting the Federation.

st original3. Star Trek

Because I was not alive in the 1960’s, I caught The Original in syndication growing up. I was always fascinated that DesiLu was a producer for the show. The show is fun and because it’s the first, I watched them all for respect to the franchise. I didn’t really connect with any of the characters too much, but as I got older I was able to see the social messages they presented, and it added a new layer to my understanding of the show.

stds9 title2. Star Trek Deep Space Nine

I really liked the serialized nature of DS9. They did really interesting things with the characters that allowed us to really get invested. I loved the Odo/Kira story, the O’Brien story with his history with the Cardassians established in TNG explored further here, the Worf/Dax story. And Sisko is just a formidable presence. He was always great to watch each week. The Jem’Hadar are a great villain that really made for some tense episodes. The final season is one long arc that really pays off well in that last episode.

st tng1. Star Trek The Next Generation

Captain Picard is my captain, and the Enterprise-D crew, my crew. TNG is #1 on my list because I grew up with them. They were my entry into Trek, and will (probably) always be my favorite. The episodes may have been formulaic and stand alone, but syndication forced their hand in that respect. My love for Patrick Stewart is well documented on this blog, and this is also my first exposure to him. He always impressed me as Picard, and I still love watching for his monologues. I do wish they could have developed the characters more, but the books provide a lot of that growth.

How do you feel about Star Trek and the new series coming? What’s your favorite series? I look forward to reading your comments!

Leave a Reply

