Aziz Ansari is Killing It!

Meet Dev (Aziz Ansari), a 30-year-old actor in New York who has trouble deciding what he wants to eat, much less the pathway for the rest of his life.

Master of None stars Aziz Ansari, Noël Wells, Eric Wareheim, Lena Waithe, Kelvin Yu, and H. Jon Benjamin. Watch Season 1 on November 6, only on Netflix.

I wasn’t sure how I would feel about this show. I had not read a lot about it  because Aziz’s acting in Parks and Recreation was always more caricature, and by the end of that shows run I was a little tired of seeing Tom Haverford’s antics.

Seeing Master of None makes me realize how well Aziz can act. The character of Dev is more down to earth and less spastic than Tom was, and that makes me appreciate Aziz’s Parks and Recreation acting more now that I have seen him do something that is more subtle.

I really like the secondary characters in this show as well. The relationships feel real. I really love that Aziz got his actual parents to play them on the show, and they are scene stealers!

Lena Waithe as his friend Denise is also a scene stealer. I really like that she’s gay, but it’s not all she is, and that she still has a normal life that they explore too.

And if you close your eyes when H. Jon Benjamin (Actor Benjamin on the hilarious movie-within-the-show The SIckening) is speaking, you can imagine that you’re in an episode of Bob’s Burgers. But I would recommend watching the episode as they intend once.

Noel Wells is perfect as a love interest. They have great chemistry and I can’t wait to see where they go.

I’ve only seen up to episode 7 as of now, but I look forward to seeing how the first season ends, and I suspect this will get a second by Netflix.

What did you think? Let me know in the comments! Until Thursday!

 

 

5 comments

Leave a Reply

