America Fererra is back (But on NBC)!

America Fererra is back on TV tonight in the new NBC comedy Superstore.

I really love that America is back in a weekly series. I’ve loved her since she was in The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants. After binging Ugly Betty on Netflix, I really got used to seeing her infectious optimism on screen.

I’m really hoping that this is a good show, and that NBC airs all of the episodes. It premiers tonight with two episodes following The Voice, and then comes back on January 4th, 2016 in its normal time slot, Mondays at 8/7 Central.

America Fererra stars as Amy, Cloud 9’s intelligent and responsible floor supervisor.

It’s her responsibility to show Cloud 9’s newest employee, Jonah, the ropes. He’s our guide in this world of Supercenter Cloud 9.  you might recognize Ben Feldman from NBC’s A to Z, and it looks like in this he’ll be playing the romantic lead again.

During the trailer I laughed at a few things: Dina, Cloud 9’s resident security guard and HR manager, had a few good one liners. I think I’m really going to like that she’s both security and HR manager, something that would probably not happen in real life. I know nothing of actress Lauren Ash, but I look forward to seeing her as this character.

I liked when the manager asked Amy to sell the salsa and she asks if it’s because she’s Latina. And he says no, so he chooses someone else and it is the other Latina employee. I really hope that they write the diversity well.

I’m definitely watching the two episodes tonight, and hope that it’s quirky like Ugly Betty, or at least as good as the show that creator Justin Spitzer used to work on, The Office.

Are you watching? Like me, does America Fererra starring make you want to tune in? Do you think it’ll all take place in the store, and then slowly move out, or will it be a mixture of work and personal life? Let me know in the comments!

 

 

Leave a Reply

